House lawmakers have introduced legislation, House Bill 39, to decriminalize minor marijuana possession offenses.
Under state law, the possession of any quantity of cannabis is classified as a criminal misdemeanor, punishable by up to 6 months in jail, a $1,150 fine, and a criminal record. House Bill 39 reduces personal use possession penalties of up to one ounce to a civil violation punishable by a $100 fine only — no arrest, and no criminal record. Statewide polling datafrom 2014 finds that nearly 7 out of 10 Delaware citizens support this change.
Delaware: Lawmakers To Debate Marijuana Decriminalization Measure